Skip to content
Birmingham Counts — Birmingham, in numbers.Local help →

Birmingham · England

People and living standards

Birmingham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Birmingham

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Birmingham local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 1,004,502 in 1991 to 1,176,960 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Birmingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,001,087 people in 1996; 1,176,960 people in 2025. 17.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Birmingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19911,004,502
19921,004,259
19931,005,419
19941,000,140
1995999,108
19961,001,087
1997993,650
1998991,380
1999989,712
2000985,119
2001984,642
2002990,384
2003996,356
20041,002,376
20051,014,650
20061,020,843
20071,029,021
20081,038,980
20091,050,072
20101,061,074
20111,074,283
20121,084,661
20131,094,531
20141,103,724
20151,114,932
20161,131,271
20171,139,893
20181,146,050
20191,150,646
20201,148,692
20211,143,285
20221,153,436
20231,169,606
20241,182,920
20251,176,960
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Birmingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 236,615 people in 1996; 249,407 people in 2025. 5.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Birmingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991226,046
1992229,944
1993233,040
1994234,852
1995235,922
1996236,615
1997235,401
1998234,754
1999233,023
2000231,242
2001228,536
2002227,835
2003227,483
2004227,740
2005229,745
2006231,860
2007233,617
2008236,228
2009240,055
2010242,323
2011244,996
2012248,122
2013251,257
2014253,701
2015256,581
2016260,245
2017262,769
2018263,512
2019262,149
2020259,053
2021254,343
2022253,315
2023254,273
2024254,406
2025249,407
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Birmingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 616,093 people in 1996; 771,312 people in 2025. 25.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Birmingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991625,997
1992622,473
1993621,088
1994614,974
1995613,768
1996616,093
1997611,135
1998610,377
1999612,570
2000611,309
2001614,178
2002621,008
2003628,411
2004635,206
2005646,329
2006651,801
2007658,825
2008666,065
2009672,588
2010680,716
2011690,517
2012695,553
2013700,759
2014706,070
2015713,217
2016724,903
2017729,873
2018733,752
2019737,919
2020738,742
2021738,022
2022748,259
2023762,352
2024773,815
2025771,312
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Birmingham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 148,379 people in 1996; 156,241 people in 2025. 5.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Birmingham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991152,459
1992151,842
1993151,291
1994150,314
1995149,418
1996148,379
1997147,114
1998146,249
1999144,119
2000142,568
2001141,928
2002141,541
2003140,462
2004139,430
2005138,576
2006137,182
2007136,579
2008136,687
2009137,429
2010138,035
2011138,770
2012140,986
2013142,515
2014143,953
2015145,134
2016146,123
2017147,251
2018148,786
2019150,578
2020150,897
2021150,920
2022151,862
2023152,981
2024154,699
2025156,241
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 1,144,922 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Birmingham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh355,38431%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African125,76011%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups55,2054.8%
White556,60848.6%
Other ethnic group51,9654.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 1,073,045 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Birmingham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White621,63657.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups47,6054.4%
Asian/Asian British285,64026.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British96,3609%
Other ethnic group21,8042%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 977,087 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Birmingham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White687,40670.4%
Mixed27,9462.9%
Asian/Asian British190,68819.5%
Black/Black British59,8326.1%
Chinese/Other11,2151.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 26% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Birmingham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,644 per person in 1997; £19,205 per person in 2024. 122.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Birmingham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,644
19988,848
19999,227
20009,788
200110,144
200210,280
200310,522
200410,783
200510,806
200611,188
200711,451
200811,709
200912,006
201012,242
201112,340
201212,655
201312,942
201413,528
201514,056
201614,258
201714,423
201814,735
201915,295
202015,496
202116,221
202217,125
202318,160
202419,205
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Birmingham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.5% in 1997; -26% in 2024. 7.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Birmingham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.5
1998-18.3
1999-18.4
2000-17.8
2001-18
2002-18.7
2003-19.3
2004-20.5
2005-23.1
2006-23.6
2007-25.4
2008-25.6
2009-25
2010-24.2
2011-24.3
2012-25.1
2013-26.1
2014-25.2
2015-26.1
2016-26
2017-26.8
2018-27.8
2019-27.4
2020-26.2
2021-25.7
2022-25.4
2023-25.7
2024-26
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

24.9%

21 March 2021 · Birmingham local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.9%

21 March 2021 · Birmingham local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Birmingham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£234,000

July 2026 · Birmingham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,099

August 2026 · Birmingham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.